top of page

The Art in a Flame 🔥


Something so relaxing as to watching the flame of a candle.

Up until today, I have colored pictures of candles with hues of red, orange and yellow. As I've become more interested in watching the flame dance, I see the colors are more blue-ish, grey-ish and bright orange-y. Staring at a candle just transports me into a state of warmth, peace and happiness. Happiness to know that both can be acquired by just the sight of a flame.

I've always been cautious when sparking a candle, and just a sense of worry when just being around "fire".

Now, I'm not! I mean I'm still cautious, but not so iffy about enjoying such a relaxing feeling. Relaxing, because it is such a calm feeling I get into...meditative like.

Don't believe me, just watch!

I recently have been surrounded by lots of fire energy. No coincidence, with my new found obsession with meditating with a candle. So I searched up the symbolism ...

Fire symbolizes creation, destruction and transformation.

When one thinks of the color of red, you may think of power, anger and aggressiveness. All associated with Fire energy. Just like all the other elements, too much of it can be bad, too little of it can be bad, but just the right balance everything is just fine.

Fire is a tricky element. It involves both Earth and Air energy. Fire needs the right amount of Earth to anchor it and the right amount of Air to keep it going. Too much Earth or too much Air makes the Fire uncontrollable. And uncontrollable Fire causes frustration, anxiety and misdirection.

The first step towards balancing your Fire is to become aware of what it feels like when it's out of control or in need of motivation. A great way to keep your fire balanced, is remembering that joy is a pivotal piece of the equation. Of course after self-care.

Grab a journal and ask yourself:

>What grounds your fire?

>What activates your fire?

>What directs your fire?

If you truly want to give what I've been practicing a "name", you can refer to it as 'Candle Magick'. Candle Magick has been around for thousands of years. Ever since it was discovered by humans, they have sought their transformative abilities. As described by Mackenzie Sage Wright over at Exemplore, "Candle magic harnesses the power of fire -- the element of transformation -- to bring change." She also went on to describe how fire transforms things, like organic materials into ash; softening hard metals to be more malleable; turning liquid into gas; etc. *She also has a really great introduction to candle magick 😉

*I totally recommend Mackenzie's blog post, and the video clip created on my beautiful burning candle.

I loved sharing this with you! If you would like to learn more on this topic, message me on Live Chat. To personally work with me, visit the Work With Me tab.

Yvonne (Eve)

xoxo

bottom of page